Learner’s Permits in North Carolina
North Carolina requires that new driver’s take thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction outside of school hours. The new driver must be at least fourteen and a half (14.5) years old before they are allowed to register for this course. After they complete this course, they will be permitted to receive behind-the-wheel instruction.
Under North Carolina law, students must complete six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. This instruction can be done through the student’s school or through a commercial driver training school, that is properly licensed. Once both the thirty (3)0 hours of classroom instruction and six (6) hours of hands-on training has been completed, the student must obtain a driving eligibility certificate from his or her school.
Once the certificate is obtained, the applicant must pass a written test with the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles. Once a learner’s permit has been issued, the driver may only drive with a validly licensed, sober supervising driver. For the first six months following the issuance of the permit, the driver may only drive between the hours of 5 a.m to 9 p.m. After the first six months, the permit holder can drive at any time. There are strict rules against the driver using a cell phone for any reason while driving. Violating these rules can have criminal and licensing repercussions.
Lastly, the North Carolina DMV requires a permit holder to submit a driving log before he or she will be issued a regular driver’s license. This log must detail at least 60 hours of driving on the learner’s permit, with ten (10) hours of night-time driving and ten (10) hours of driving per week.